You Are the Product

I feel like I have so many online accounts, whether they’re social media accounts, emails, usernames, online shopping accounts, or whatever, that I can’t keep track of them all anymore. I am usually always honest with my online accounts about my personal information because I do a lot of online shopping where I have to be honest about my information in order to get the product. However, I have lied on some online accounts. For things where I need to create a username and password but know that it will be a one time deal, I’ll use a fake name and email so I don’t get bombarded with messages I don’t care about. One thing that really bothers me is when I am asked for my phone number. I don’t see the point of leaving my phone number in order to sign up for an online account. I try to leave the minimum amount of personal information as I have to when registering for online services/accounts.

I post more personal information on online services because they are services intended for this information. I put my real name on my Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram account. On these accounts I will post personal pictures and thoughts. I do feel better about posting personal information on these services because on all three I have registered for privacy settings so in order to see my information you have to request to follow me. I don’t let anyone I don’t know follow me because I don’t want some “creeper” looking at all my stuff. This article about the safety of our pictures on Instagram Safety on Instagram explains almost everything we need to know about our pictures safety. I found it useful and wished I read this over before making my account.

To be honest I have never read the user agreements for anything I have signed up for online. I always check the box but never read it. I know, its so horrible, but its true. Those things are so long, I don’t have time to sit down for an hour to read them and have no clue what I just read. I know that I really should read user agreements because I don’t know what I am getting myself into. I believe its just a bad habit that I’m used to by now from all of my online services I have signed up for. This article User Agreements You’ve Probably Accepted has some interesting user agreement terms that people have registered without knowing. The one that caught my eye was about how if you post a photo, the service owns the photo and can do with it as they please. That’s not good for us because I want my photos to me MY photos, not Facebook’s property.

Have you ever googled yourself? It’s so creepy! I found all of this information about myself including: my parents, my address, my education, my phone number, and my social media accounts all from typing in my name! This article about Googling yourself was very interesting to read. It pointed out that employers could google you, and would find all the same information you found . Googling Yourself . It’s very scary to think that anyone can find almost anything out about someone via the internet. As for trusting accounts like Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Google, etc with my personal information I trust them to a degree. I trust them that I will be safe on their accounts, but I know they are running a business and sometimes sell personal information. I would never ever post anything on a social media account that I didn’t want someone to see, because it can be seen somehow. My boyfriend is extremely against social media. He is such a private person and does not want anyone to be able to see anything he does, so he is always in my ear about limiting my social media postings.

Another thing to consider is all of the people who share the same name with you. I am not the only Kelly Oliver on social media. There are hundreds of other Kelly Oliver’s on Facebook, Twitter, Vine, etc. I do not want someone to see a posting by another Kelly Oliver and to think its me. Sometimes shows will allow fans to tweet questions and the actors will answer them. For example on Bravo, Andy will host an after show of Real Housewives of Beverly Hills and at the bottom of the TV screen a tweet will appear. Maybe the username is @KellyOliver7 and someone could think that it was me, when in fact my username is @Koliver3. Social media accounts can be tricky because people can use your name, use your information, and even create fake accounts using all of your stuff. Contrasting myself here lol, but I kind of wish that we could have the same usernames as other people because all of the good user names are always taken! I can never have a user name I want, I always have to have a suggested name because my first choice is already been chosen. I know it wouldn’t be possible and I would have to come up with a better solution that sharing a username, but its frustrating!

windowslivewriterthinkyoureinternetsafetysavvythinkagain-bc5binternet-safety-43(1)[1] Perfect Picture for my thoughts.

Standard

Leave a Reply

